Yet another blog from some random dude training for Ironman and beyond

It’s all so simple

Or so the coaches, editors and others would have you believe.

As I think about what will be required to push my body to complete a 140.6 mile triathlon I have a couple sets of emotions.

First, I feel excited and confident as I think it’s very doable — even for me.

Second, I feel anxious and worried as I contemplate what it will take to train for something like this. I have a friend, now divorced, who told me training for an Ironman is like having a second full-time job and he was training 20-30 hours per week.

Maybe that’s why he’s divorced. And, perhaps, maybe that’s why he burned out and had a terrible result (in his eyes) at his race.

While earning a spot at Kona would be a dream come true, it’s not my goal. I like racing, I like comparing my times to the times others post or the times I posted the time before, but my competitive gene isn’t quite as active as it is with other people. I do want to perform well, but I also truly want to enjoy the journey. And this will be a significant journey.

As I was thinking about how to plan this long, strange trip I wandered out to grab the mail. Staring at me on the top was Triathlete Magazine — with Macca celebrating his Kona victory. But that wasn’t what really grabbed my attention.

I was grabbed by the headline on the left: You Can Be an Ironman. More intersting was the subhead: A Super Simple Training Plan That Will Actually Fit Into Your Schedule.

Now for those of you following along, you know fitting a training plan into my schedule isn’t exactly the most difficult thing in the world right now. Still, I’m trying to be an active father to four very active kids. So I do not want to significantly impact that role so I can play amateur Ironman superstar.

Keeping it simple sounds ideal. I’d like to train effectively but not go overboard. So as I thumbed through the pages of the magazine, I stopped on Page 147 and found it.

The Super Simple Ironman Training Plan.

It maps out daily workouts over a 20-week period with enough details and variety to keep me going right up to race day. It has interval days, easy days, endurance days and tempo days. And, like any decent plan, is flexible enough that I can swap days (or even weeks on occasion) around to fit what might be conflicts with the daddy/hubby/work routine.

Week 1 starts with a non-threatening 40 minute bike session with 6×20 sprint intervals thrown in followed by a 1,000 yard swim with 8×25-yard sprints. The next day calls for an ‘easy’ 5-mile run … and so on.

19 weeks later we’re into taper mode with the big day staring me right in the eyes.

Like I said — simple.

Super Simple.

One response

  1. Charlie Lowman

    Hey I’ve been doing the 20 week plan for a while; how did it work out for ya?

    Thanks!

    March 17, 2013 at 11:46 am

Leave a Reply

