Yet another blog from some random dude training for Ironman and beyond

Thieves are stupid

I’m a Fred.

I have some fancy bikes but I’m a thoroughly mediocre cyclist.

Which makes what happened Monday afternoon really strange.

After helping my children participate in their first triathlons, we came home and had a good day at the house.

But, just as we were leaving for a barbeque at my brother’s house, I noticed something strange about the garage — the kids’ ‘racing’ bike was not hung from the ceiling like it was earlier. Someone had slipped into the garage and stolen the bike.

The strange thing is that my Pinarello Prince, my Fuji D6 Pro, my Scott CX Team bike, my old Trek 5200 and my wife’s Fezzari Catania were all sitting there waiting to be stolen, too. That list doesn’t include a few wheelsets, a beater mountain bike or my teenager’s cruiser bike.

But the thief walked away with only a size 34.5 Fuji Ace with a 24-inch wheelset — the perfect road bike for a 7-year-old who wanted to race bikes like her daddy. Estimated value: $200.

The bikes and gear left behind are valued at more than $20,000 easily.

Me riding my daughter's bike before it was stolen

So, if you see someone who looks like this riding down the street, feel free to club them with a tire iron.

5 responses

  1. Wow, that is super lame. I don’t really want to see a man crying from losing his nice set of bikes, but I’d like to see a kid crying from getting their bike stolen even less. Super lame. No trial. No jury. Straight to execution.

    September 7, 2010 at 5:12 pm

  2. Jeff

    Yes, truly baffling to say the least. I was thinking about it earlier today and the only explanation I can come up with is that some kid at the last tri race was bugged because they were beaten by your child, so they followed you home, and when you weren’t looking stole the bike hoping that they’d never have to face them again. Possible?

    September 7, 2010 at 5:54 pm

  3. I’d say crime of a child. Not sure about the triathlon thing. Most thefts are by people we know or … somewhere close to home.

    September 7, 2010 at 7:12 pm

  4. je

    A neighbor kid would not surprise me at all

    September 7, 2010 at 7:31 pm

  5. Amy

    Jared,
    I feel for your daughter. My daughter had her bike stolen last summer – and like your thief – he (I’m assuming gender here) left much more valuable equipment behind.
    I was advised to check pawn shops…Didn’t do it, but it might be a good idea.
    I love the blog!
    ad

    September 8, 2010 at 8:22 am

Leave a Reply

