Yet another blog from some random dude training for Ironman and beyond

I went for a ride

Tuesday morning came and I told my teenager that my morning belonged to me and my bike and she was simply going to have to babysit until I got back.

Then, at 6:30 a.m., I hopped aboard that bike and pointed it south, into Utah County and pedaled until I got to Fairview.

It was wonderful.

I stopped, took a picture of the old school house and then turned around for the ride home.

My original intentions were to get 100 miles in and make them as flat and fast as possible. But, as is often the case, I had a change of heart. I had planned to ride to Elberta and back. But when I got to Saratoga I was already tired of the headwind and turned right to Eagle Mountain, Cedar Fort and Fairview. It’s such a nice, lightly traveled road that I am surprised it is not more popular. It also added a fair amount of climbing to my ride and slowed me down a bit.

The return took me through Herriman and up a few more nice hills and then home.

All told, I logged 85 miles and put in close to 3,000 feet of vertical at an average pace of 18.3 miles per hour.

With the early morning headwind and no one to draft off, I think that was an OK ride.

I checked my weight just before leaving and it was 193 pounds.

When I got back, despite chugging five 24-ounce water bottles, I stepped on the scale and it read 186.8.

Bike riding, even if I never get truly fast or win any races, will at least keep me from getting fat.

And, really, that’s why I started riding and racing the bike.

Because I was getting fat.

So I’m winning that race, at the very least.

Leave a Reply

