Yet another blog from some random dude training for Ironman and beyond

City Creek Double Header

Wednesday I was scheduled to work a night shift at the office. Frankly, working at the office is getting a little depressing these days with a lot of rumors circulating about impending gloom, doom and layoffs.

So when my daughter begged me to let her babysit a couple of hours earlier than I expected her to — she’s desperate for $$ — I quickly agreed and loaded the bike in the minivan and headed for the hills.

Specifically, I headed for City Creek Canyon anticipating nice open roads during the early afternoon with shade and a little cooler temp along the way.

I had about two hours to ride and did the climb twice. Even though I’m a slow climber, I loved it. The solitude, the nature and the time spent on the bike were just what I needed to recharge the mental batteries and prepare for a long night at work.

Total numbers for the ride:

Time: 01:50:25
Distance: 26.31 mi
Elevation Gain: 3,338 ft
Calories: 1,940 C
2 responses

  1. I have really fallen in love with City Creek Canyon this year. It’s so convenient to my office that now that the shoreline trail has dried to a crisp it’s my go to ride. The 2x is tough, especially in the heat of the day. Lately I’ve been thinking of attempting a 3x.

    July 8, 2010 at 12:37 pm

  2. je

    One of my biggest problems with long rides that include lots of climbing is the family. There are lots of days where I don’t feel I can safely go 50 miles from home because I might be needed at home ASAP if my wife is called to the hospital or if my teenager can’t babysit for long.

    So City Creek offers a great option if I want to ride it more than once before work.

    I’m think a 4X would be a great afternoon ride

    July 8, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Leave a Reply

