Yet another blog from some random dude training for Ironman and beyond

Hitting the reset button

It’s been a while since I really paid any attention to this blog. Not entirely sure why, but I have a feeling work, family, burnout and a few other factors — i.e. Facebook and twitter — have contributed to my decision to step away from regular updates.

Well, I think it’s about time to change that and try to keep myself more plugged in to this form of writing … after all, I pretend to be a writer in the real world, so I better write.

The reset button, though, applies to more than just this blog.

The last couple of months have been challenging to say the least in regards to my life as an cyclist and triathlete. I’m not foolish enough to think I can be an elite competitor at either sport but I’d like to try. May and June, however, have been extra challenging. Between vacations, school schedules, work demands, injuries, family concerns and just some overall discouragement because I’m still pretty slow when I race, I’ve had a hard time maintaining a quality training schedule.

And what I thought was fairly good fitness has fallen off. I’m not nearly as strong as I’d like to be and certainly not as fast as I want to be.

That said, I think there is improvement in my ability despite my non-training.

Somewhere along the line, I got the idea that I might be a pretty decent time trialist. So I try to hit the local races and see if I can improve.

Last year, I raced in both the Masters 35B and Cat 4 races at the Utah State Time Trial Championships. I signed up for the same races again this year and, despite relatively little training, somehow managed to trim 71 seconds off my time in the Cat 4 (30k) race and 18 seconds off my time in the Masters 35B (20k) race.

What does this tell me? It tells me I need to get out and ride more. I need to throw a lot more intervals into my training and I need to tough out some days and ride in the basement even if it’s June.

Hopefully my time away from serious training and this blog will help me recharge the mental batteries I need to stay fit and stay motivated.

One response

  1. “What does this tell me? It tells me I need to get out and ride more. I need to throw a lot more intervals into my training and I need to tough out some days and ride in the basement even if it’s June.”

    Seriously?

    What’s with that header photo? Is that supposed to be some red badge of courage? It depresses me.

    July 7, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Leave a Reply

